MOTION OF CENSURE AGAINST R4U'S MISHANDLING OF THE LOCAL PLAN

In response to the Residents for Uttlesford (R4U) Administration's mishandling of the Uttlesford Local Plan over that past forty-one (41) months since the May 2019 local elections, at which R4U took responsibility for delivering an Uttlesford Local Plan, Council resolves to censure the Administration for its failure to deliver a draft Regulation 18 Local Plan for consultation with the public of the district by an already revised deadline of November 2022.

Council calls upon the Leader of Council and the Portfolio Holder for Planning, Stansted Airport, Infrastructure Strategy and the Local Plan to:

- 1. Explain comprehensively why the Regulation 18 Plan will not be published by the previously committed date in November 2022, and whether there have been internal disagreements about the proposed spatial strategy within the ruling R4U Administration Group.
- 2. Explain why the public announcement about this delay in the Regulation 18 Local Plan's public consultation was made through a statement in the press on September 13th and was not formally agreed via a constitutionally proper, democratic decision-making route in public at a special meeting of the Cabinet, and why the Local Plan Leadership Group was side-lined by the press announcement and the cancellation of its own scheduled meeting.
- 3. Explain objectively whether the recently announced delay in the start of the Regulation 18 consultation risks yet further delay beyond February 2023 and until after the May 2023 District Council Elections, owing to the statutory preelection purdah requirements.
- 4. Declare what steps will be taken by themselves to restore trust and confidence in this Council's handling of the Local Plan delivery between now and the May 4th 2023 Local Elections to minimise the development free-for-all in our towns, villages and countryside and to allay growing public concern that R4U has lost control of the district's future.

Signed by Cllr M Caton, Cllr A Dean, Cllr P Fairhurst, Cllr V Isham, Cllr A Khan Cllr B Light, Cllr J Loughlin, Cllr G Sell.